Connecticut Duty Free Week begins on Sunday. Here’s what you need to know.

If you need new clothes or shoes, now is the time to get them, Connecticut.

Starting Sunday, clothing and shoe purchases will be exempt from the state’s 6.35% sales tax thanks to an emergency law last month. The sales tax exemption runs until April 16.

The holiday only applies to “any garment or footwear intended to be worn on or around the human body”. Each item must be under $100 to qualify.

Governor Ned Lamont signed the emergency legislation on March 24. The bill also suspended Connecticut’s gasoline tax and public bus fares from April 1 through June 30. In an analysis by Hearst Connecticut Media, gasoline prices fell an average of 24 cents per gallon. after the repeal of the tax.


“With this bipartisan action, we are taking steps to provide relief to consumers in the face of rising prices due to a number of international dynamics and market instability that go well beyond our state,” the official said. Governor Ned Lamont in a statement. “Connecticut is in a stronger fiscal position than ever, and I am determined to use every tool available to provide relief to our residents.”

State Sen. Marilyn Moore, D-Bridgeport, agreed the legislation will save residents money.

“My colleagues and I are working to give our community a break from the past few weeks of price increases, including a second week without sales tax will help people save more money when buying new clothes for warmer months ahead,” Moore said.

The annual State Duty Free Apparel Week is usually held in August. However, unlike previous weeks of sales tax relief, clothing and footwear designed for sporting activity or protective use, as well as wallets, will also be zero-rated this week.

Jewelry, handbags, luggage, umbrellas, watches and similar items are not eligible and will have sales tax.

The $100 threshold applies to items after cashback, coupon sales, and other offers. For example, if a coat usually costs $120 but the buyer has a 25% off coupon, they won’t have to pay sales tax on the purchase since the final price will only be $90.

Clothing or shoe rentals are also tax-exempt if the rental is picked up during that week, according to a Department of Tax Services fact sheet.

For more information or questions, contact the Tax Services Department at 860-297-5962. Help is available 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Christy J. Olson